Back in the brew house.

(Tried to post this one last week but it failed somehow.)

Got a surprise call last week from Grand River Brewing to come in and brew for them a couple of times. A surprise because I brewed for them last at the end of November and I honestly thought that was going to be my last time for a couple of reasons:

1. The assistant is doing more of the brewing than before leading me to believe that I would be involved less.

2. The last brew that I did was so smooth and “text book” that I figured that HAD to be my last time in the brew house.It was too good to be true.

So last week went fine and and I got called in again for this week so it’s all a bonus! This week I did two big brews with their Russian Gun Imperial Stout and Curmudgeon IPA. Bigger brews behave slightly different so it can sometimes be interesting. No problems this week so that is always a bonus.

I was also back in my own home brew house, as it were. I brewed with a couple of friends in the week following New Year’s. Made up an APA using half Pilsner malt and half Munich. I’ve used that combo before and it works quite well. Various additions of American hops and in a couple of weeks I have something very drinkable.

The other batch that I brewed was a pretty straight-up best bitter. Some 2-row, Munich and Pilsner with the addition of some Crystal 110. A bit of a mish-mash of grains but I didn’t have quite enough 2-row and made it up with Pilsner. Hopped with East Kent Goldings and Willamette and it should provide a very balanced and decent beer. An authentic “Best Bitter” in the truest sense of the term? Maybe not but it’ll still get the job done.

In keeping with the name of the blog I currently have my pumpkin ale on second tap and on first tap is the stout that was made with the second runnings of the LISP. I’m enjoying both.

About It's what's on tap...

I'm a bass trombone player. I make beer. I take pictures. View all posts by It's what's on tap...

6 responses to “Back in the brew house.

Leave a Reply

