Kicking and Screaming

If you can’t laugh at yourself, where are you?

My brew partner Scott is chock full of ideas and he came up with the idea of a Neopolitan (ice cream) Stout: Chocolate, Vanilla and Strawberry. We bounced the idea back and forth and I amended it to Chocolate, Vanilla and Raspberry thinking that the Strawberry flavour would likely get lost in all the other big flavours.We both decided this would be the next brew.

I like to keep things simple both in process and flavour. Scott recognizes this and he came up with the name of Kicking and Screaming Stout. That is, dragging me kicking and screaming into making this beer!

We brewed it a while ago and it’s been fermenting away nicely. Primary is basically done and it’s ready to transfer to secondary for the addition of vanilla and raspberry. I dealt with the vanilla portion a while ago by splitting the vanilla beans and scraping the paste out of them. I then cut up the beans themselves and soaked everything in a few ounces of The Balvenie Scotch.

Any addition to secondary needs to be sanitized and whether you do that through heat or through alcohol, the choice is yours. It seemed much more enjoyable and flavourful to soak the vanilla in the alcohol and then add it to secondary.

I’ll be adding the raspberries this week as well but will be pasteurizing them by heating them to around 180ºF for 10 minutes or so. I don’t like to transfer things more than once, if at all, but even though the vanilla is ready to go I’ll have to wait to get some raspberries before I do the transfer.

 

Click the link for our recipe for the Kicking and Screaming Neopolitan Stout:

K&S stout

On tap now is the Kleine Schwarz (second runnings from our LISP) and Three Seas IPA.

About It's what's on tap...

I'm a bass trombone player. I make beer. I take pictures. View all posts by It's what's on tap...

3 responses to “Kicking and Screaming

  • Clay

    When I first heard Neopolitan Stout, I chuckled to myself about Neopolitan Ice Cream and wondered what the style was……then I asked, imagine my surprise.

  • Scott

    I was disappointed to find that we aren’t the first to make this beer. I will bet though,that the flavours will be better balanced in ours, as the reviews I have read show that didn’t happen for the other brewer.

Leave a Reply

