Moving Beer

It was as busy a day as they come in my “brewery”.

I have two competitions coming up in January: Ontario Beer Kegs and a friendly competition between my homebrew group, GRAB (Grand River Area Brewers) and the HOZERS (Hamilton Ontario Zymurgy Enthusiasts Ring). It’s all fun and I’ve been brewing a fair bit over the last month or so so I have a few things to enter.

I spent a fair chunk of time today in my brew space moving beer from carboy to carboy. I acquired my new filtration unit a few weeks ago and one of the bonus features of it is that you can bypass the filter pads/plates and just use it as a small pump. It’s perfect for transfers and I don’t have to worry about siphons, gravity or lifting heavy carboys.

I was able to transfer and dry hop an IPA I did a while ago and move it from the bottom shelf to the top shelf of my fermentation cupboard with the pump. Pretty painless!

moving beer

moving beer

There was a question asked of me about the filtration process and that is whether the pump introduced oxygen/air through cavitation. I’m happy to say that, no, there is no cavitation in this pump since I have used it. There was a bit of air introduced via filtration but it very quickly subsided and the lines were free of any air.

No aeration/cavitation

No aeration/cavitation

It may not be totally clear in the above photo but the lines are free of any air. The little pump was a work horse today. I not only used for the bigger transfers but also for taking out a gallon of a particular beer to add to priming sugar in a gallon jug and the using it for bottling. No siphon needed!

My to-do list for today:

  • transfer/dry hop IPA
  • transfer/dry hop competition APA
  • transfer/gel Christmas Ale
  • bottle RIS for comp
  • bottle LISP for comp

Done and done!

Peter’s Happy Pils and May the Schwarz be with you… It’s what’s on tap.

 

About It's what's on tap...

I'm a bass trombone player. I make beer. I take pictures. View all posts by It's what's on tap...

One response to “Moving Beer

Leave a Reply

