Done with filtration

Well, I took another stab at filtration. This time before running the beer through the filter I decided to try it with just water. I used boiled and cooled water to soak the pads in, assembled the filter and cycled the boiled/cooled water through the entire system. Tasted the water at first pass and got all the soapy goodness from the last time I used the unit. Let it run to flush through the pads and tasted again. Same.

These were new, in-package pads designed specifically for the filter. At $2.99 for a set I’m definitely done with using the unit for filtration and will only use it for transfers as I can bypass the filter pad/plate section.

It’s a bit of a drag but no huge loss. I have a fridge for cold crashing and I use gel in addition. It just would have been nice to filter the beer on the way into the keg saving a day or so of gel/cold crash.

Oh well.

My “Happy Pils” and a chocolate oatmeal stout called “One Stout Named MO”. It’s what’s on tap…

About It's what's on tap...

I'm a bass trombone player. I make beer. I take pictures. View all posts by It's what's on tap...

One response to “Done with filtration

  • Visit This Link

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

